Hey Albert, thanks for saving your best for when I’m not there!!!

The Arch shines brightly tonight in St. Louie with my not so smartphone finally away from under those bushes!


Games one and two of the World Series were both dramatic in their own right while game 3 was your garden variety blowout! But few will ever remember anything in the latter matchup but Albert Pujols crushing 3 homers in his last 3 at bats (along with 5 total hits and 6 rbi’s) to lead his Cardinals to an impressive 16-7 win over the Rangers for a 2-1 series edge.

Only Babe Ruth (twice) and Reggie Jackson had ever hit 3 bombs in a single WS game before tonight and Sir Pujols matched them just a day after earning the right of getting ripped by the media for not even thinking about doing any postgame interviews after game 2 in St. Lou.

I was there of course, but spent all but the last few minutes in the winning Texas locker room so I had no idea of what Albert had pulled. Let’s just say that a ‘superstar’ who needs his PR hack to tell him that he’s wanted after a world series game is either in a coma or doesn’t care. Anyway you look at it, Pujols certainly found a way to put that negative to rest and in a hurry as it will all be forgotten (by most).

So now suddenly the Rangers need big outings from there starters in games 4 and 5 at home (specially after all the pitches their relievers threw tonight) or else be in jeopardy of never getting back to St. Louis while losing the Series for a 2nd straight year.
Texas will go with Derek Holland in game 4 and then their ace and the pride of Newport Beach C.J. Wilson in game 5 on Monday.

I got the chance to speak with each of them in the Rangers postgame locker room on Thursday night and it was specially fun to walk up to C.J. and ask if my KNX 1070 mic flag looked familiar to him at all? And as you’ll hear, he impressively guessed correctly right off the bat! Unfortunetly the only thing I regret not asking (as it was done on the fly) was how Wilson was dealing with not getting a post-season win yet this month? Shame on me…that was my worst personal blunder on the trip besides losing my new smartphone at the Arch before flying home on Friday-What a dummy I am! Fortunately an honest woman found it, turned it in and then emailed me. And the guy at the Arch said it would be Fed-ex’d at their expense because of taxpayer’s dollars…what a great country!

Here are my chats with the next two Texas starters, with each trying not to meltdown in the pressure cooker…

Derek Holland with Ted Sobel:

C.J. Wilson with Ted Sobel:

About Ted Sobel

Award winning sportscaster/journalist covering major events around the world since 1973. Please check out my new book 'Touching Greatness' and deep audio vault---and follow me on Twitter and Instagram (@tedsobelsports).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment